Hummingbird Don’t Fly Away   1 comment

I can’t believe I got this photo today of the elusive hummingbird.  He never stays long enough for me to get my camera.  Today, I happened to have just walked out my back door with camera in hand, and there he (she?) was on my bee balm.  I couldn’t possibly get the camera turned on and up to my face in time, and he flew away.  But he only flew to the other side of my yard, where he found a nicotiana in bloom.  I ran, as stealthly as I could, over to him, snapping shots as I got closer.  I was able to get this one, cropped of course, and I’m just thrilled.  I think it was the longest I’ve seen him stay on one plant, I was very lucky, he must have found some good nectar in that nicotiana.

Posted July 18, 2008 by cindyeo in garden, hummingbird, nicotiana

One response to “Hummingbird Don’t Fly Away

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Beautiful picture!

Leave a Reply

