Peaches   3 comments

I tried an experiment last spring.  I purchased 2 small peach trees, and planted them right by my back patio.  I put a cedar 4×4 post on either side of them, strung galvanized wire between the posts, and I’m planning to grow them as espalier.  This spring I had many blossoms and in June I had peaches.  This photo was taken a couple weeks ago.  I’ve lost one so far to someone eating it, must have been a bird because it was big bites.  If anyone has any tips for growing peaches organically, please leave me a comment.

Posted July 17, 2008 by cindyeo in garden, peach tree

3 responses to “Peaches

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I grew up eating peaches off the tree in my grandparent’s backyard in the Okanagan region of British Columbia. Don’t they taste so much better than the horrid rocks at the grocery store?

  2. I use a garlic pepper tea at bud drop to run off the worms. Netting helps keep the birds from eating them. They do taste so much better off the tree.

  3. Thank you Deb, I’ve used a garlic oil spray on other plants, so I’ll try it next year on the peaches. And I agree Amy, the ones in the grocery store are so bad. I hope the “buy local” movement continues and more local farms can stay in business.

Leave a Reply

