The Payoff   1 comment

After weeks of hard work, the garden finally rewards you.  This is a view of my gardens taken along the back of my house.  This photo was taken on July 1 and I’d probably say this is peak, although I do have annuals and some late blooming perenials still to come.  In the foreground on the left side is a clematis, Huldine.  Then there are blue delphiniums and gold daylilies.  Behind that is a pot of fushia on a pedestal, red bee balm (monarda) and magenta rose campion (lychnis coronaria).  To the right of the cat is my greens garden, mostly all you can see is the bush basil that I grow around the edge and the arugula patch right next to the cat.  To the left of the cat I have 2 tomato plants growing on either side of that ladder trellis.  Not the most effective system to grow tomatoes, but I needed something attractive since this is also a flower garden.  Behind the cat are some deep orange/red lilies, I think the variety had the word fire in it, and the rose garden behind that.  Always some notes for next year – I think I’ll move the red bee balm and the blue delphinium closer together and make sure I have some white nicotiana (there’s one behind the chair) started early enough to be blooming for the 4th of July!

One response to “The Payoff

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. How pretty! I love all the windows along the back of your house. I am rather window poor.

Leave a Reply

