Bradford Pear Trees   3 comments

The flowering pears in my area are gorgeous this year.  Look at them lining this street in a nearby town.  I assume these are Bradford pear trees.  I’ve planted some Chanticler pear trees in my backyard, after looking at some photos in a Penelope Hobhouse book.  Here’s what they look like now, I’m hoping to keep these pruned so they stay small, the variety is supposed to be narrower and more columnar than the Bradfords.  They’re so small now you can hardly see them.

Posted April 28, 2008 by cindyeo in garden, pear tree

3 responses to “Bradford Pear Trees

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. These are gorgeous! We can’t grow pears in Minnesota, so I am green with envy.

    mynortherngarden
  2. Lovely photos! I love ornamental pears too!

  3. I love these trees but they don’t love me.. I sneeze and can’t breathe when I am around them in the spring. The fall color is beautiful and I really enjoy seeing them in their full fall glory!

Leave a Reply

