Forcing Spring   4 comments

 hyacinth-pot.jpg

Last fall I planted a lot of bulbs in my yard.  About 400.  Well, actually 392.  8 of them went into pots and I am enjoying them now.  I think I waited a couple days too long to take a photo of the hyacinths above.  And the other 5 are daffodills and they haven’t bloomed yet, photo of them later.  This is the time of year you appreciate those blooming house plants.  Here are a few others that I have:azalea-pot.jpg

This azalea has bloomed for me for many years.  If someone gives you an azalea in a pot, don’t throw it away after it’s done blooming, put it outside for the summer, keep it watered, bring it in in the fall, and this is what you’ll get next winter.  You probably should give it some fresh dirt, and you probably should give it some fertilizer over the summer, I think I gave this a little fish emulsion when it was outside, I don’t think I gave it any fresh dirt, so that’s an action item for this spring.

orchid-pot.jpg

Same thing with orchids, especially these moth orchids, very easy to get them to bloom again.  This is the third year of blooms for this one.  After they finish blooming the first time, I cut the stalk back, but not all the way to the ground.  Soon, you will see a new shoot and it will bloom again.  Then after that, I cut it all the way down, because it was getting pretty ugly.  It took longer, but now I have new blossoms.  I water my orchids once a week, by putting them in the sink and giving them a good soak.  Let all the water drain out, give it a splash of diluted orchid fertilizer, let that drain out, too, and return them to the window.  Mine are in a south window, but I don’t think this variety is supposed to need that much sun.

orchid-close.jpg

Posted March 2, 2008 by cindyeo in bulbs, hyacinth, orchid

4 responses to “Forcing Spring

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very pretty. I always wondered what to do with those potted azaleas

  2. Beautiful , I can almost smell them from here!
    Found your blog thru Blotanical. Stop by for a visit some time
    Carol
    terranovadesign@blogspot.com

  3. These are gorgeous! Living in Minnesota, I’m very hungry for color now, but did not force any bulbs (just some branches). By the way, thanks for linking to my blog (my northern garden)!

    mynortherngarden
  4. Hi there! I was in Duxbury just yesterday! It is a lovely little town and you are fortunate to live there. Lovely photos!

Leave a Reply

