Rodrigo y Gabriela in Boston   Leave a comment

rod-gab.jpg

I must digress from my usual gardening blog to tell you about Rodrigo and Gabriela.  In case you don’t know them, they are 2 native Mexican guitar players who didn’t make it big until they moved to Ireland about 8 years ago. I went to their concert Wednesday night in Boston and they blew me away.  Probably the best concert I’ve ever been to.  This was their first concert in over a month, they had to cancel a bunch of dates because Gabriela needed to rest, the word was exhaustion.  Now I understand why.  This woman puts her heart and soul into her music, she is the entire rhythm section and she plays percussion and bass at the same time.  Rodrigo is fabulous on lead guitar.  They get the crowd involved, from clapping to singing to pulling someone out of the audience to play the guitar (Rodrigo claims it was not a set up, I’m not sure about that).  I originally thought I might leave the concert early, because I wasn’t sure how long I could sit and listen to Spanish guitar, I figured it would all sound the same after a while.  But this was enthralling – Spanish/flamenco/rock.  I loved it and stayed to the bitter end.  I highly recommend you go to see them if they come to your city.  Check out their website, watch and listen to a few clips www.rodgab.com, make sure you click “watch”.   I borrowed their picture from there, I figured they wouldn’t mind the free publicity.

Posted October 19, 2007 by cindyeo in guitar, music, rock

Leave a Reply

